Generosity

Being Kind

I recently read an article by Susan Verde on 3 Simple Ways to Raise Generous Children. It got me thinking that as adult am I still a generous and kind being. Between juggling, multitasking and stressing I am sure I am less than human some days. We all have a lot on our mind and a list that seems never ending day in and day out!

 Susan’s 3 Simple Ways
  1. Start Small.
  2. Take a Mindful Approach.
  3. Catch Them in the Act.

DSC_0395

Small & Simple

When I think start small I think simple too. 

  • Holding a door.
  • Lending a hand.
  • Giving a greeting or a compliment.
  • Treating people how you like to be treated.
  • Making someone’s day.

Being kind is a great place to start in setting the tone to have a good day! To really make a difference in being genuine and generous. Saying hello, sharing a smile, expressing a compliment, holding a door open, etc. Those random acts of kindness! I know it makes my day.

DSC_0448

Mindful & Present

How do you approach being generous and being kind with a loving heart and generous spirit?

  • How do you feel in that present moment?
  • How do you feel when you are on either the giving or receiving side?
  • How do you communicate, interact and connect?
  • How do you keep the judgements, perceptions and expectations in check?

When I think taking a mindful approach I think about being mindful of the experience too.

My trick when the going gets me down is to remember to smile and/or even laugh! It helps me get back on track to having a good day. It reminds me to slow the pace down and just breathe. It makes me take time out for myself and my whole being!

DSC_0397

Action

When I think about the act of being generous and being kind I think about . . .
  • Are we walking the talk?
  • Are we instilling that within ourselves and sharing that with others?
  • Are we generous, kind and compassionate beings at the very essence of it all?

A thank you. Providing praise. Recognizing some one for helping out, being kind, a job well done, etc. It makes a difference and can have an impact on the person you approach as well as yourself!

Coming from a place of love . . . to know that I am loving and loved, to know what I need and want, to be grateful and thankful, to be supportive to myself as well as others! I am practicing coming from a place of love every day. To listen, to belief and to trust in myself. To value myself by making the decisions and choices that are best for me. To follow my heart and do more of what I love! 

Ask Yourself . . .

  • How do we open up to what we need let alone knowing what others need?
  • How do we love and support ourselves as well as give that back to others?
  • How do we show gratitude in what we do have?
  • How do we shift that mindset and change the perspective on a daily basis?

DSC_0434
(Photos by RSheridan)

Love to Hear From You, Please Share Your Thoughts!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

2 responses to “Generosity

  • Minnesota Prairie Roots

    Last evening as I was leaving my volunteer photographer job at Vacation Bible School, a young man held the door for me. So this post really connects with me today. I told him how nice it was that he held the door. I am also going to tell one of the teen helpers how good she is with the preschoolers. Thanks for the reminder to always be kind.

    • cravesadventure

      You spread the word on your blog about kindness and just paying it forward on my blog. We all need that inspiration, motivation, encouragement, etc. Here’s to Being Kind 🙂 Happy Day – Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

