Losing The Moment

Practice Being

Technology as well as social media has changed how we experience the moments and make memories!

I was watching the news recently and saw a story about how photo bombed the Mona Lisa is with everyone taking selfies of themselves with her.

  • Are we not seeing what is right in front of us?
  • Are we missing those moments?
  • Are we truly experiencing?

I am all for arm chair experiencing!


Take a Seat, Relax and Enjoy!

When I can experience it in person though I want to soak it in! I know I am guilty in losing focus when I have my camera in hand. I know I miss out and lose the moment when I have my camera in my face. I know I need to put my camera down and just be in the moment!

  • How do you engage, but not lose the moment?
  • Do you connect or disconnect?
  • Do you attach or detach


Focusing . . .

We all need to feel like we belong! I think about instant gratification (i.e. likes) and positive reinforcement (i.e. comments). I think about the attention seeking and self absorption. I think about the addictive nature of technology and social media. We are driven by that need for connection and to experience!

We end up craving the New! and the latest and greatest in technology and social media applications! A constant stream every second. It can become overwhelming as well as exhausting! 

How do you go about it though! Is it to experience? Or Do we spend more time thinking about how other people will perceive your experiences? The reality versus a digital representation!

  • The sharing of experiences and moments.
  • The sharing of milestones and memories.
  • The sharing of your greatest someones and sharing the love.
  • The sharing of joy, happiness and pleasures.
  • The sharing of laughter and friendship.
  • The sharing of everything in between, like beauty, fashion, home decor, gardening, etc.

I need to practice being more! Soaking in and savoring being in the present. Immersing myself fully and completely. I feel better when I am focused on the present moment and not letting my mind wander off somewhere thinking about everything else I should be doing!


Practicing Being More . . .

I am all for enhancing the experience, however; do not lose the moment!

  • Take in the joy and the happiness from the experience.
  • Take pleasure and celebrate the experience.

“One study showed that the mere presence of a cell phone when two people are talking interferes with feelings of closeness, connection and communication.”

Are we still social creatures that like to connect with others or is there a new way to connect? That face-to-face connecting and looking into their eyes and watching their body language. That closeness and connection in being with another human being!


Connecting . . . (Photos by RSheridan)

Does Technology and Social Media Connect Us or Act as a Barrier between Us? Love to hear your thoughts, please share!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

4 responses to “Losing The Moment

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red- This Wild Life

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

