Relax

Check This Out!

I recently read an article by Dr. James S. Gordon called A Doctor’s Top 5 Ways to Relax Naturally. Dr. Gordon is the founder and director of The Center for Mind-Body Medicine (CMBM) and author of Unstuck. All types of people feel “stuck” and it is not just depression, but anxiety, frustration, worry and stress-related too. From adults to even children. There is also the feeling of loneliness and not feeling the love due to being hurt and/or a lapse in or lack of trust.

There is a correlation between relaxation and meditation as well as nutrition and exercise.


Relaxing . . .

  1. Soft Belly Breathing
  2. Talking a Walk
  3. Perusing a Book Store
  4. Mindful Eating
  5. Thanking Nature

I was surprised to discover that I currently do all five.

#1 – Soft Belly Breathing

“It’s a simple way of quieting the stress and fight or flight responses, which are major contributors to anxiety, depression and chronic illness.”

I learned soft belly breathing through exercising and find it beneficial to do throughout the day too. I need a quiet place to go to breath though. Otherwise I cannot focus on my breathe and quiet my crazy mind. I find my thoughts wandering at times and either reign them in or just let them go.

Breathe slowly and deeply in through your nose and out through your mouth with your belly soft and relaxed.

I am not a fan of my anxious awkward being let alone the reactive one that tries to rear its ugly head at times. I need to pause and take a breathe in order to think instead of just being reactive. I communicate more effectively and make better decisions. I find myself considering the other person’s feelings and coming from a place of thoughtfulness and kindness.


Opening . . .

#2 – Taking a Walk

I do a good majority of sitting throughout the week for work and commuting. I need to move and walk and take the stairs multiple times a day. I need to get up to stretch and breathe. Moving just feels good after sitting and sometimes we sit for too long of a period of time.


Wandering . . .

#3 – Perusing a Bookstore

There is nothing better for me than perusing a bookstore and/or cooking/kitchen store! I can get lost as well as get my creative side going. I like to check out the new releases, cooking and travel sections. I like to check out the gadgets, table ware and linens. I can wander and peruse to my heart’s content!


Perusing . . .

#4 – Mindful Eating

My idea of mindful eating is taking the time to savor and enjoy what I am eating. I do the hoover method enough throughout the week. It is nice to slow down, sit down and enjoy good food and good company for an hour or so. I enjoy perusing the grocery store as well as taking the time to cook at home.


Savoring . . .

#5 – Thanking Nature

For me being out in nature is a stress reducer and a mood booster!

Nature also gives us abundance that we need to be thankful for! The farms. The food we eat and enjoy. The green spaces and sense of community. The fauna and flora as well as the light and the water.


Being . . . (Photos by RSheridan)

What Is One Thing You Do For Your Whole Being? Love To Hear Your Thoughts, Please Share!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

6 responses to “Relax

Leave a Reply

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

whatmeread

Reviews, reviews, and more reviews

