An Hourglass

Imagine!

An hourglass measures the passage of an hour of time. Imagine as you age the two bulb sizes get smaller, the neck width increases and the material gets finer! Time would just fly by, right. I find myself wanting more time, especially when the sands of time slip through my fingers!


Sands of Time

Why was I in such a hurry to grow up as a kid! I find myself grasping for one more minute and looking to hoard another hour or two. I think to myself if I could just buy more time I could do XYZ. There are days I am not sure if I am watching the clock or the clock is watching me!

Clocks are everywhere! I think about the one at the gym that is SUPER BIG with OVERSIZED red numbers. I have next syndrome (i.e. where do I need to be next?, what is the next thing I need to do?, etc.)! I get more than a little panicked and stressed out when I am running late. The anger starts to set in and everyone is in my way. I am so OVER it most days!

How can this be a healthy let alone a happy way to live?

I find myself wanting more time, but I fear I would just be greedy and waste that extra time as quickly as possible!

I think of that movie In Time where people have been genetically engineered to be born with a digital clock, bearing 1 year of time on their forearm. At the age of 25 a person stops aging, but their clock begins counting down; when it reaches zero that person “times out”. Imagine thinking 74 or 85 years of age is considered young and in the prime of your life today! I hear the clock ticking . . . do clocks really tick anymore.

Are we time poor or time wealthy? Is time and currency one in the same?


Beautiful Sunrise

How do you make more time for yourself then?

I think about a mime in his or her imaginary box claiming his or her space within that imaginary box! I want to claim my own space for myself. It helps me center myself and become more aware and mindful. I know this is where I am right now and to connect with myself from the inside out!

I CRAVE certain things because I need to take the time for myself, my needs and my whole being! It certainly helps me align myself mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually!

  • Getting outside and being with nature.
  • Reading and writing (the physical of the book or pen in hand too!).
  • Being creative.


Nature


Reading and Writing


Being Creative – Capturing the Light (Photos by RSheridan)

Ask Yourself These 3 Questions:

  1. How Do You Spend Your Time?
  2. Do You Need More Space With Yourself?
  3. How Do You Create That Balance Between Time and Space For Yourself?

More than likely you will discover a few SURPRISES in your answers to these questions! Then you can go about making changes for the better. Remember to make small changes for the best results, especially in doing what works best for you and your needs!

Now I Am Thinking of the Tortoise and the Hare . . .

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

16 responses to “An Hourglass

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red- This Wild Life

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

