A Little Green

Jealousy vs. Envy

I recently read a book about friendships and there was one topic that kept sticking out to me! The topic of jealousy and envy among the different friends and the role it played in their friendships. I starting thinking about that movie Single White Female and the very unhealthy roommate/friendship between the two main female characters in that movie!

Jealousy can be an impluse or instance of feeling jealous or being jealous or behaving jealous.

It’s not easy being green. ~Kermit the Frog

Envy is wanting what somebody else has or to desire something that somebody else has. Envy results in feelings of resentment or unhappiness.

No matter how large the swamp; be your own frog. ~Kermit the Frog

I like to think of it as being competitive between friends, but could there be a bit of jealousy or even envy with that competition! Yes, there could be. I think it comes down to how you handle and deal with the situation as well as your emotions, feelings and thoughts. There is a fine line between being supportive and being a little green when it comes to the balance of friendships!

I know I become a little green when I start in on the negative self talk, the self doubts and the questioning of my abilities, skills and talents! I reflect my insecurities and my fears on to my friends and that affects the friendships too. Why am I competing with my friends and comparing myself to my friends? I need to work on building healthier friendships instead of breaking those friendships down!

I want to see my friends have good things happen to them in their lives! I just need to keep my mouth shut and my ears open to listen more. I want to share in the happiness, celebrate in the successes and give best wishes. I really need to set my own needs aside and just be there when needed!

I have to realize that each and every one of us is on a different path in living our lives! This realization helps me to not turn it into a competition or about comparison. It is more about being mindful and being grateful for what I already do have and what I want in my life. I want to share in what my friends want in their lives more than anything else!

I love when I can learn new things from my friends and continue to grow as a person! I enjoy the collaboration and the interaction when I can put my strengths together with another person’s abilities, skills and talents. Sometimes I am suprised how well we complement each other. It is such a supportive, healthier and happier friendship!


(Photos by RSheridan)

Here’s to Being AWESOME and AMAZING and WAY LESS GREEN Too!!!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

18 responses to “A Little Green

Leave a Reply

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

whatmeread

Reviews, reviews, and more reviews

