My Healthy Toolkit

Starts In The Kitchen

Kitchen Essentials

The 1 – 2 – 3

1 Good Sharp Knife, 2 Good Cutting Boards and 3 Good Cooking Pans!

  • Invest in a good chef’s knife that works best for your needs and it will do the job for most jobs.
  • Find a cutting board that works best for your needs and buy two; one for meats and one for fruits and veggies.
  • Invest in three good cooking pans that works best for your needs; sauté (frying) pan, stock pot and a pan that suites your style of cooking (i.e. wok, dutch oven, cast iron, etc.).
  • A good sauté (frying)  pan cuts down on sticking, uneven cooking, burning, etc. It allows you to cut back on oils and fats and cook with water, broth or nothing added.

The Electric Stock Pot

  • I love my programmable electric stock pot; the crock pot! I use the crock pot for cooking and heating. The possibilities are endless (i.e. breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinners, side dishes, desserts, etc.).

Water

  • Water Bottles of all Shapes and Sizes
  • Pitchers and Carafes
  • Tea Kettles and Tea Infusers
  • Coffee Makers (heat up water/make tea)
  • Camelbak(s)

I carry a water bottle with me every day. I also have a Camelbak when I need more than a water bottle of water or want to be more hands free.

Blender

I blew up a few blenders in the past. Then I had the opportunity to make an investment in a Vita Mix and love it! Any blender is better than no blender.

Steamer

I have a layered steamer, so I can steam rice in one and veggies in the other. I have been looking into rice cookers lately too.

Spatulas, Wooden Spoons, Whisks . . .

I have multiple crocks (for easy access) as well as drawers full of cooking utensils. I probably have way more than I need too. I love having a hand masher when I do not have the time to break out the electronic versions.

Extras

Spices

Find your go to spices or blend of spices (i.e. Ms. Dash, lemon pepper, garlic herb, etc.).

Herbs

We decided to try our hand at growing herbs again and it worked this time. Rosemary, Thyme, Oregano, and Chives, etc. You can buy fresh or dry herbs or even grow your own (can be grown inside or outside). I am learning how to store fresh herbs (i.e. what and how to store in the fridge or leave on the counter).

Experiment

  • Try new foods or new recipes with those new foods or foods you already like.
  • Try different methods of cooking too (i.e. raw, steamed, grilled, roasted, etc.).
  • Learn the art of blending, especially to blend in fruits, veggies and greens.

Somethings may be tricky or just plain trip you up, but keep on experimenting! Keep the cooking as well as the eating interesting. You may even SURPRISE yourself when you try and taste something that becomes a NEW! LOVE! Remember creating a healthier lifestyle should be FUN and not a chore.

Here’s To Improving as a Cook and as an Eater When It Comes to Creating a Healthier YOU!!!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

5 responses to “My Healthy Toolkit

  • Minnesota Prairie Roots

    This year, at the end of the outdoor growing season, I brought my basil and oregano indoors. Why did I not do this before? I only began growing herbs last year. Why did I not do this before?

  • Cecilia

    We had home grown basil this year too and I love, love the smell of basil inside the house. I tried mint too but it grew so fast and furiously that I didn’t know what to do with it all 😉

    I’ve only recently begun to gain some confidence in cooking and that has made me more interested in experimenting. I think I might upgrade on some of my cook ware before long!

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red- This Wild Life

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

