Bridging the Gap

Discovering Your Needs

I have been experiencing a gap between my professional and my personal life that has thrown me a little out of whack lately! I know this is not the first time nor the last time I will experience this in my life. I also know I am not alone in this experience. How come this time I cannot seem to bridge and shorten that gap?

Doing . . .

I seem to get into those positions where within 2 to 4 years I am itching for a change or just plain hitting a wall! I started creative writing and blogging to bridge that gap. I joined a professional group that meets once a month as another outlet to help bridge that gap. I think all I did was add a little more busyness to my personal life – ha!

I am also moonlighting on my day job with these outlets! Sometimes I feel like I am floating and other times I feel like I am floundering in trying to find my next career path. I am grateful to have a job, but I strive to have a career again! How do you make that transition and take that leap when the economic and employment climates are highly unpredicatable and highly unstable?

I keep thinking to myself that I am selfish in wanting to do something that I love and get paid for it too! Especially in working 40 hours a week for the next 15 to 20 years. I know what I am currently doing is no longer working, but I am still trying to figure out what I really want to do! It makes no sense to me and I make no sense to myself at times.

Questioning . . .

I need to really wake myself up and ask myself some tough questions in order to make my next move! The first tough question that I need to ask myself is, “What do I want?” I truly fear the unknown and that is a pretty scary place to be! I feel like I am not carrying my own share of the load too.

I knew I needed a transition partner! In joining a professional group I am contributing as well as gaining in knowledge and experience. I find it helpful to be able to reach out to someone who has gone through a transition in their professional life. It gives me the confidence to believe and trust in myself and my talents.

I am finally giving myself the permission I need to explore and discover as well as practice and exercise my talents! The hardest part is being patient with myself to let the transistion process evolve, especially on its time and not my time. I need to sit back and just enjoy the journey!

Wanting . . .

I need to blow the door off and open up my world again! I am the change and I am the one who makes the choices. I need to focus on the positive and the good and celebrate more. I need to think in terms of what could be instead of what was!

I need to tap into my passions and desires as well as do what makes me happier each and every day! This comes from being able to do at least one thing for myself and for the better of myself on a daily basis. One major aspect that has become part of my day is creative writing and blogging. In order to ask that tough question of what I want is to do at least one thing each and every day to become the person I want to be!

I have to put the stress and worry on the down low and give myself a break too! I like being a beginner and learning new things again. It is such a breath of fresh air to take the time I need for myself. I really have to build myself up from the inside out in order to bridge that gap in my personal life and my professional life!


(Photos by RSheridan)

Here’s to Discovering What You Want to Do, Falling in Love With What You Do and Wanting More Of It!!!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

10 responses to “Bridging the Gap

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red- This Wild Life

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

