Pushing Buttons

STOP Already!

I am not a patient person, which results in a low tolerance for anything that wastes my time. I can either stew or just let it rip. I am working on a better approach to just letting it rip! The mild irritation can turn into frustration pretty quickly and that is so not healthy for anyone.

I am learning how to raise that tolerance in patience, so I can put my irritation and frustration on simmer. Especially when it comes to dealing with difficult people. Especially when it comes to something that bothers me so much that I cannot move forward. Be able to handle those type of emotions in a healthier way!

I do not care for the blame game because it really gets you nowhere in resolving a situation. It is one thing to blame the carpet for tripping you up versus an actual person. When it is an actual person just be the bigger person at that given moment. I know for me the blame game usually results in backfiring and ends in hurting each other’s feelings.

I realize that the majority of us are tetering on the edge on a given day. The pressure, the tension and the stress can just overwhelm you at times. Almost everything becomes a hassle or irritation. You really have to reinforce a positive mindset and arm yourself with resilience and flexibility!


(Photos by RSheridan)

You can use that negative energy and turn it into positive energy! Sometimes you are the catalyst when it comes to your irritation or frustration (i.e. under pressure, feeling overwhelmed, being pushed and pulled, etc.). I know one of my catalysts is impatience. There are times I  just want my own way. Let that catalyst motivate you in a positive perspective and approach to the matter at hand!

Turn that irritation and frustration into calm and empathy! A little kindness and compassion go a long way at times. You have to find your triggers and turn the situation into positive. Like my mother stated growing up “Count to 10”.

1, 2, 3, . . .

You have to calm your mind, get level-headed and just breathe! Take the emotions and the personal out of it! Getting frustrated, pissed off and angry is not the answer. Change your perspective and approach when it comes to handling these type of situations in your life.

Stop Pushing Buttons & Start Taking Control!!!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

8 responses to “Pushing Buttons

  • Minnesota Prairie Roots

    Two comments:

    1) Your mother offered some wise advice.

    2) To be the bigger person is excellent advice.

    • cravesadventure

      Audrey –

      My mom probably thought it went in one ear and out the other, but it did stick – ha! I learned #2 the hard way about a year ago – great learning lesson and growth experience.

      Happy Week:) – Renee

  • stormy1812

    Totally agree! it’s so funny but I find myself in the position where I’m losing my patience. I used to be a really patient person but over time, particularly in recent years, I’m having less of it and part of that may be due to getting tired of people being jerks all the time. In the end, however, you’re right. It’s not worth all the energy to spend on people or situations that can’t be changed. Control yourself and let the rest be. Not to be too religious or preachy but personally, I’ve always loved the Serenity Prayer because it helps me to do just that and to have a bit more patience, which truly is a virtue.
    p.s. I think your blog is snowing lol. I hope you have a shovel *wink* 🙂

  • Cecilia

    I read advice in a book once that said to ask yourself how important the issue would be a year from now, or to imagine if the irritation would still matter if you knew the person wasn’t going to live much longer. It’s helpful to remember that perspective. I ruined my Thanksgiving this year because I temporarily lost that perspective and failed to be the bigger person…

  • char

    Great advice. So much good could be accomplished if we stopped blaming and just figured out what WE are in control of. We can never change another person, so we waste energy when we try to do so and get angry that we fail.

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red- This Wild Life

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

