“Present”

Communication,

Interaction,

Conversation,

Connection . . .

Remember your school days where you would tell your homeroom teacher that you were there and “present”!

An online friend of mine recently shared a video that spoke volumes to me! The video shows a woman out and about with no phone in her hand while her friends and family have their phones in hand and cannot seem to put them down for a minute or two. What? I am starting to think actual HUMAN conversation, interaction and connection has changed and not for the better either.

Why is being more “present” with your phone more important lately? Even scarier is doing it while driving (i.e. not being hands free, texting and now selfies while driving)!

Yes, I use technology and social media, but there is a time and place for it too! I certainly have no plans in becoming one with my not so smartphone. I happen to man a switchboard in my 8 to 5 professional life and the last thing that I want to interact with is a phone in my off time. I experience enough distruptions and distractions and busyness that adding a phone in my hand 24/7 is just one too many things to juggle for me!

I love face time with my greatest someone and someones! I enjoy the interaction and the conversation. I crave that one-on-one, face-to-face time! I enjoy the connection and the communication with other people.

I am a social human being that craves being with other social human beings! In being social I am more open to encountering opportunities in my life too. I have to GET OUT THERE to experience life! It is not going to come and knock on my door. It comes from interacting, networking and building those relationships that I need in my life!

I crave that energy from other people too! It inspires and motivates me. It makes me want to go out and make things happen that bring me happiness, pleasure and joy. It makes me want to be a better person as well as do better in living the life I want! 

I do find value in connecting with others through technology because there are little barriers in getting to know each other! Then when we do meet in person I feel that I know them a little bit. I feel like I can interact a little easier because we have connected. It helps put a face with a name too.

Here is Your Challenge for Today, this Week or this Month!

Who Are You Going to Communicate, Interact, Converse, and Connect With Face-to-Face? Please Share, Love to Hear!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

4 responses to ““Present”

  • Minnesota Prairie Roots

    This is a great reminder. Too much smartphone time is the truth. What I dislike most is when I’m at a restaurant and I see a couple at a table, both of them with their heads buried in their phones, not communicating.

  • Cecilia

    Ha ha, my husband and I have been that couple at the restaurant. Last week I was very conscious of the fact that my husband and I were both reading (books) while my son was playing with something, waiting for our food. The thing is that we had a ton of face-to-face together time leading up to that meal and so this was our break from one another 😉 But I worried about looking like “that” kind of family, ha ha.

    This week I made a conscious decision to leave my laptop on a different floor after 8 pm. No computer for me at night! And we never look at our phones while eating. It’s saddest when parents constantly do this in front of their kids. We’ve been there, of course, and so we’re learning.

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red- This Wild Life

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

