Being Supportive

To A Healthier You

I have to be supportive as well as commited to myself when it comes to making those choices and decisions to be a healthier me! In order for me to be successful in being a healthier me I have been taking it one step at a time over the past 3 years. I am learning to make better choices by educating myself on wellness and nutrition as well as health and fitness. I am trying to find that balance in being consistent instead of swinging from one extreme to the next!


Support vs. Swing

Sabotage

The #1 place I face sabotage is with me, myself and I! The second place is the work enviroment and the laden goodies that dominate the break room. The treats, the sweets and the candies, Oh My! The third place is at the grocery store and not putting certain items of sabotage in the cart.

Changes for the Better

I made the decision to be my own accountability partner! This includes being proactive about my health as well as creating a team of support to assist me in my goals in becoming a healthier me. I am not all that amazed in what I do to myself on a daily basis for the better and for the not so good too! I have to take better responsibilty for my actions and for my needs on a daily basis.

I did not listen to my body and my needs when it came to exercising 3 to 4 to even 5 days a week! I enjoy being active, but not when it becomes a health hazzard for myself. I had to make a change for the better! I have recently discovered a better groove as well as getting a total body workout by exercising 2 to 3 days a week now.

I have not been the greatest sleeper lately while recovering from an injury! I try to stay on some type of sleep schedule and adjust as needed. I am like Dr. Jekyll when not rested and like Mr. Hyde when rested – ha! If nothing else I try to catch up on the weekends by sleeping in or taking that 20 minute power nap in the afternoon.

I am slowly getting into the whole meal planning process for myself by adding in more mixed meals (carbs, proteins, fats, fruits, veggies, etc.)! I also make up meals on Sundays to have throughout the week, so I am not stopping for the not so good stuff that is fast on the way home from work. I always make sure to have good pantry items on hand as well as plenty of fruits and veggies too! This certainly helps out in making a 30 minute meal at times.


GREENS!!!

Guilty as CHARGED

I am guilty as CHARGED when it comes to blaming the extra junk in my trunk to STRESS! I only have one person to blame too and that is me. I am in control and I am the change in MY LIFE, so have to OWN IT! I need the good and the positive in living my life. I am the one HOLDING myself back, so need to start CHALLENGING myself more!

Breaking the BAD!

I am learning that ONLY I can take care of myself, my needs and my whole being for the better by making lasting changes in my life! Plus everything is connected too from you and your whole being as well as your personal and professional lives!

I am learning that change can be good and that change can go in a positive direction too! It is about making those small to minor changes along the way that prepare me for the big changes and major transitions in my life. I can procrastinate, make excuses, and just avoid a situation. However, all that really does is frustrate me even more and drain my motivation and energy. It is so not worth it and it is pointless too!

The most important way I track my progress in becoming a healthier me is by HOW I FEEL! I also ask myself questions the following questions too.

The Whats . . .

  • What is driving and motivating me to become a healthier me?
  • What choices and actions am I taking to support myself and my well being?
  • What’s my WHY in this whole process of creating a healthier lifestyle?

The Whys . . .

  • Why do I want to be a healthier me?

The Hows . . .

  • How do I feel today?
  • How do I meet my needs each and every day?
  • How do I achieve my goals (daily, weekly, monthly, etc.)?

You have to DO what works BEST for you, your needs and your whole being! It is NOT ONE SIZE FITS ALL!


I FEEL the Beach Calling Me (Photos by RSheridan)

What choices and actions are you taking to support yourself and your well being to become a healthier you? Love to hear, please share!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

11 responses to “Being Supportive

  • Minnesota Prairie Roots

    I try not to eat many processed foods. Friday night has always been pizza night in our house. Typically I would make the crust from a packaged mix and open up a can of sauce. Now I make my own crust from scratch, make my own sauce and try to use fresh mozzarella. It may seem like a small thing, but every little change makes a difference.

    Also, I eat old-fashioned oatmeal, sweetened with fresh fruit, every morning. I’ve done this for nearly two years now.

  • Cecilia

    Good timing, because as you know I just joined a gym last week 🙂 I’ve managed to go 3x since my last post. I’m tired, to tell you the truth, so I need to listen to my body too and not overdo it as you wrote! The questions you posed are good ones. I used to think exercising and being healthy was just for me, but now I recognize that I need to take care of myself in order to be able to enjoy my family longer and to not end up a burden for/on them.

  • thecompletebook

    Oh how I wish you lived next door to me. That would be so much fun – walking (running) this journey together.
    My knee is nearly 100% and I have cycled the past couple of days. I must say I am quite nervous to go for my first run again. Think I say cycle a few days more.
    Have a beautiful day Renee.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    • cravesadventure

      Mandy –

      I hope you find your balance, especially in protecting your knees:) We are doing it together just virtual – ha! Remember baby steps to getting back into running – ease into it and cut back on the miles the first few weeks and continue to build up.

      Here’s to a Beautiful Day:) – Renee

  • countrygardengifts.co.uk

    They say that we think about diets after Christmas, but you know I think more people are worried about it before, after all what is the use of looking sparkling when every one is sheltering from the post Christmas weather! http://www.countrgardengifts.co.uk Thanks for the share

  • megtraveling

    I’ve been drinking lots of water and I now like it better than diet soda!

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

wildredintothewild.wordpress.com/

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Vie & de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

