New Series: Writing

Keeping IT Going!

I have thought about doing this series for a while now. Here is the premise behind this series and basically in a nutshell it is learning about writing from the bloggers who write on a daily, weekly, monthly basis. This will be a 4 part series.

To Keep At It or Not

The ultimate decision is yours in keeping a blog going or not!

I know I am not ready to give it up and continue to make updates to my blog to keep it fresh and happening. I recently added a few more pages to my blog as well as updated the “categories” area because the content was taking over and hard for my readers to find. I have my moments with my blog and it usually stems from the content and the quality of content I put out there to my readers.

What I have learned:

  1. An afterthought for me after blogging for about 6 months was having some type of plan/strategy in regards to my blog (lifespan, content, updates, etc.).
  2. Sometimes you feed your blog and other times your readers feed your blog
  3. Remember content matters (get to know your readers/audience)

Your Turn to Share . . . GO!!!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

28 responses to “New Series: Writing

  • Texas, a cat in New York

    I would blog everyday if my human could help me more :-/
    Purrs

  • thegrassskirt

    Great series, Renee! Knowing your audience and interacting with them is so important. In fact, interacting with readers is my favorite part of blogging. 🙂
    http://thegrassskirtblog.com

  • Anita Mac

    Love reading your blog, but I know what you mean. It can be tough to keep up at times! I love your style – it is uplifting and often makes me smile.

    • cravesadventure

      Anita –

      Ahhhh – thanks so much! I have my moments when it comes to keeping up with publishing content, responding to readers’ comments, keeping it fresh, etc.

      Happy Friday:) – Renee

  • andy1076

    I love visiting your blog and reading about your thoughts! keep it going 😀 😀

  • Vanessa Woznow

    “Sometimes you feed your blog and other times your readers feed your blog.”

    I find this too! I always love your content, it definitely feeds my soul on a regular basis! x

  • Minnesota Prairie Roots

    I find my blogging driven by my passion to share my discoveries. Because of my journalism background and education, I am more journalistic in my blogging style. Yet, I find when I share my thoughts and personal stories, readers really react. That should tell me something. But mine will always be a “place” blog more than anything because that defines my unique voice as a blogger and that is what I most enjoy showcasing.

    You, on the other hand, combine place and introspection and that works, establishes your voice. I think we must always be true to ourselves and not give in to what others expect. Readers can tell when a blogger is sincere or simply writing to perhaps please the masses.

    • cravesadventure

      Audrey –

      Love that you are a discoverer and adventurer and it shows in your writing flair and great captures:) You have found your IT when it comes to blogging and that matters!

      Ahhh – thanks so much for the compliment – so appreciate it:) I write for myself as well as my readers and that drives and motivates me in blogging and writing creatively.

      Happy Friday – Renee

  • Garden Walk Garden Talk

    Blogging is because it keeps me happy. I just wish more bloggers would keep up the quality and create dialog by writing good content. Your blog is always one to make others think.

    • cravesadventure

      Garden –

      Thanks so much – got to keep my readers on their toes – ha! Love your writing flair and the AMAZING captures – nothing better than arm chair garden exploring:)

      Happy Friday – Renee

  • Sheila Morris

    OMG, I’ve got THREE blogs now after beginning with The Red Man two and a half years ago. So…I evidently like it and it likes me.

  • Bella Remy Photography

    The last tip is the most important. Get to know your readers. I changed the general style of the content I share as people preferred simple and pretty posts. Great idea Renee, Can’t wait to see what else you have up your sleeve.

  • thecompletecookbook

    I need to keep reminding myself I blog because I enjoy it, not because I have to which takes away the pressure of having to get a post out and rather to do a post when it is right.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  • char

    Love that thought. Sometime we feed it…other times our readers do. So true. Thanks, Renee.

  • daffodils&dishwater

    I so needed this! I have been writing my blog for about 14 months. In those 14 months I had never gone one week without posting (minus a few vacations here and there). But over the last two months I had such a hard time finding motivation and inspiration and was struggling with writers block. I decided to take a break from writing because I was losing my perspective and my voice.

    After about 3 weeks of not writing, I received a few messages from readers wondering where I’d been and when my next post was coming. It made me feel special that someone missed this silly little thing I do, just for fun. But that was it, I lost my “just for fun” motivation somewhere along the was and my readers gave it back to me. Just like you said, my readers were feeding me!

    • cravesadventure

      D&D –

      Happy to Help:) 2 Great Tips – Have FUN Blogging and Take a BREAK to Re-motivate!!! Keep it going sweetie – love your blog and writing flair – find your voice and motivation.

      Happy Saturday – Renee

  • AlcoholTourism

    Thanks for following us! We are going on a trip next month (our first since starting our blog) and I wondered if you had any advice for posting from the road. I’d like to avoid any ‘we did this, and then this’ sameness to our posts, and I think you’ve done a great job of telling a story with your posts and not just giving a play-by-play. Thanks!

    • cravesadventure

      You hit the nail on the head – make it and tell it as a story from the road! I do journal or write down certain things throughout a road trip. I write from the stand point of the experience and emotions. Cannot wait to hear about your road trip!

      Have a Great Day – Renee

Leave a Reply

Unbreakable JOY

...experiences with spirit's voice...

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red- This Wild Life

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

