New Series: Writing

Getting Your Blog On!

I have thought about doing this series for a while now. Here is the premise behind this series and basically in a nutshell it is learning about writing from the bloggers who write on a daily, weekly, monthly basis. This will be a 4 part series.

How Did You Get into Writing a Blog?

I have talked about my experience before in previous posts, but I will give a brief recap. I got into writing a blog out of frustration. I know what you are thinking why would you take on something that frustrates you, but it was frustration in a good way; pushed me.

I love to travel and take photos of my travels, but I had no way to combine the two until I heard about blogging. I would upload my photos to a photo sharing site with captions, but other than those captions there was no real content and did not explain the whole travel experience. So that is what frustrated me and moved me into the blogosphere.

What I have learned:

  1. Start with a blogging platform that is FREE – try it out
  2. This lesson came as an afterthought after many months of blogging – define a schedule for posts (i.e. once a week, 3 times a month, etc.) – decreases burnout as well as writers’ block in the beginning phases
  3. Utilize the Tool to Schedule Posts Out (days, weeks, months, etc.) – LOVE It!
  4. Continue to Update Your Blog (Monthly to Quarterly basis) – keep it fresh and new
  5. DO NOT Give Up unless you WANT to

Your Turn to Share . . . GO!!!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

20 responses to “New Series: Writing

  • Minnesota Prairie Roots

    The basic single requirement for successful blogging is this: passion.

    If you are not passionate about blogging, then your initial enthusiasm will wane and you will find it an effort.

    Other advice: Write often. Write well. Use lots of photos. Engage with your readers. Focus beyond yourself.

    • cravesadventure

      Audrey –

      Great Writing Tips – thanks so much for sharing! I know for me I starting writing better when I wrote on a daily basis and really took the focus beyond myself and reached out to my readers. That is when the magic happened!

      Happy Friday:) – Renee

  • Anita Mac

    I loved the ability to interact with people from all over the world…it became a forum on my favourite passion – travel! There are people that I feel like I know after following their blogs for over a year – I would love to have the chance to meet many of them. I have met one blog friend and am making plans to meet another in Feb! Such an amazing community!

    • cravesadventure

      Anita –

      Great Writing Tip – thanks so much for sharing! The blogging community is like one worldly bear hug:) You broaden your world to new places and cultures; learning how other people just live their daily lives. It is AMAZING!!!

      Happy Friday:) – Renee

  • ethelthedean

    My blog was definitely born out of a need to communicate – my thoughts were clogging up my head and I was having a hard time functioning with all these pent up words! Now, it’s all about sharing – stories, pictures, musics, opinions – the brilliant take between myself and the fab people that I get to meet through wordpress. (Such as your smashing self!) xx

    • cravesadventure

      R&RAN –

      Ahhhh – thanks so much sweetie:) I love your writing flair and just how you put it out there to share. Really makes me want to share more of myself in my writing. Thanks so much for sharing!

      Happy Friday:) – Renee

  • Garden Walk Garden Talk

    I think bogging is such a great way to meet others of the same interest. I keep the blog fresh by being eclectic and posting regularly. It took awhile to turn on sharing and subscriptions though. Never thought people would be interested in a garden blog.

    • cravesadventure

      Garden –

      Totally agree with you in meeting people with similar interests and just sharing those interests! I love learning, especially new things:) I love your blog and your photography is AMAZEBALLS!!!

      Happy Friday:) – Renee

  • Lilly Sue

    Loved hearing how you got into blogging. I was constantly talking about food and beer and either out of annoyance or love 🙂 my boyfriend told me I should start a blog. He was my original inspiration and now it is all the food and beer I get to try and of course all my readers that inspire me 😀

  • Mark

    I wanted to share my thoughts and my art never realizing I really had so much to say even if some of it wasn’t very interesting at times! I love the interaction with others outside the circle of family and friends who you work and play with. Now I realize it is more about as I say ‘shining a light into the dark’ trying to give others some hope or at the very least a moment of respite. You never know who may need what you have at any moment this side of heaven. I believe in the ‘ripple effect’! Life is meant to be shared!

  • tita buds

    I started blogging at the urging of my friends who loved my stories, anecdotes and little observations. As I grew old(er), I realized I wanted to write about other stuff so I put up my current blog. I’m enjoying it so far. Best part? Meeting new friends like you not just in my city but all over the world. Like Anita, I too recently met a blog friend in person and we chatted like we’ve known each other for months (which in a way is true). 🙂

  • Karen

    My blog is so different from most. My topics are varied and I never blog on specific dates even though I do post at least twice a week…I guess I am lucky to have my loyal readers.

  • Bella Remy Photography

    This is a fantastic idea, and I know those out there just starting out blogging will really benefit from your expertise.

    • cravesadventure

      Thanks so much Bella – glad you think it is a fantastic idea! I am working on developing a page on blog writing, but wanted to see if it is of any interest with my readers first.

      Happy Monday:) -Renee

Leave a Reply

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

whatmeread

Reviews, reviews, and more reviews

