The Great Outdoors

The Great Outdoors

Hopefully your idea of the great outdoors is NOT like Dan Aykroyd and John Candy in The Great Outdoors. A marauding bear, crazy raccoons, bats in the middle of the night, a wild thunderstorm.  Fun Fact:  The Great Outdoors was actually shot on location in Bass Lake, California, a small resort town near Yosemite National Park. Yosemite is truly a place where you can explore and enjoy the great outdoors.

Escape, Explore & Experience . . .

Who does not enjoy wide open spaces after a day or week of hanging out in cubeland! Have you noticed the cubes are shrinking lately? Maybe the cubes are shrinking because the workload continues to increase and the paperwork and files are taking over – what about that paperless system! Did I lose you? Have I stressed you out? Have you run out of the office after reading this to the great outdoors?

Yes, Escape, Explore & Experience the Great Outdoors. The BIGGEST PLAYGROUND is just out your front door – take advantage of it.

#1 Escape

The 1st step is escaping the hustle and bustle and to just get moving, get outside. Take advantage of the Green Spaces in the cities we live as well as the State and National parks nearby. Like I stated above one big playground waiting to be used for enjoyment.

#2 Explore

The next step is twofold in being open to exploring as well as being adventurous. What an Adrenaline Rush at times! You may never know if you like to do something unless you try it first – right.

Okay, I realize not everyone is a fan of the great outdoors. Trust me when I say there are plenty of options that do not require getting dirty, putting up with insects and snakes, and having close encounters with the local wildlife. You can and will find your comfort zone when it comes to the great outdoors.

The majority of people enjoying the great outdoors wear the outdoors with pride, like a badge of honor. You may over hear mountain bikers talking about falls, scraps & scars. I have hiked many trails in Yosemite and afterwards you have that hiker stance, are covered in dust and looking for food because you are STARVING! You can so rock helmet hair after a long bike ride – at least you know you got out there and did it. Trust me when I say after an hour or so in the great outdoors nothing will mess with you because you STINK!!!

#3 Experience

At the end of the day it is all about the experience – what you did, what you accomplished & what memories you made! I am not saying that you do not live life if you never go outside, but it sure makes it a better experience if you do. I recall my experience with the Panaroma Trail in Yosemite. Was I totally prepared for the experience? No! Was it challenging? Yes! Did I do it and enjoy it? Yes & No! I ate that trail and spit it out and it bit me back with a sprained knee, but I will never forget it – not one of my finest moments, but the best experience of my life!

If You Love the Great Outdoors, Join Us In Raising Your Hand – Here’s to the Great Outdoor Warriors (it lives inside of each and every one of us just have to release it)!!!

About cravesadventure

I love to adventure to new places to create new life experiences. View all posts by cravesadventure

4 responses to “The Great Outdoors

  • nod 'n' smile

    Great post- I did a three day trek in Peru and it was physically PAINFUL, but at the end I felt such a sense of accomplishment. I think it was overcoming that challenge, along with all of the wonderful sightseeing, etc. on that trip, that makes me look back with such a sense of fulfillment.

    • cravesadventure

      Thanks. When you overcome a challenge there is such a sense of accomplishment and fulfillment. I need to do some more international travel after you talking about the sightseeing in Peru.

      Take Care – Renee

  • Stephanie (@ Life Tastes Like Food)

    Oh my goodness, Renee, you read my mind!!! Yesterday was just “one of those days” for me, so I called up two of my girl friends, we packed up some water and drove about 20 minutes out of the town. Then we did a 4 mile hike to the top of the ridge that overlooked some beautiful mountains and a part of the lake. It was amazing…and exactly what I needed! It wasn’t planned or an extremely exotic place, just somewhere where we could get away for a couple of hours. The outdoors and nature are truly everywhere! 🙂

    • cravesadventure

      Stephanie –

      Either I have to get out of your mind or great minds just think alike!!! Nothing like being in the great outdoors to blow off some steam and find a calming balance. I am so glad my parents did not treat me like a girlie girl and exposed me to camping, the outdoors, nature, Campfire Girls, Girl Scouts, being able to grow up on a hobby farm – still a love I have today! I could spend hours and hours being outside and taking pictures of nature and the great outdoors. So Raise Your Hand to the Great Outdoors & Enjoy:) Release Your Outdoors Warrior!!!

      Have a Great Upcoming Weekend – Renee

Leave a Reply

philosophical Epiphany

Philosophy / Mind / Art

The Oracle

The Blog

Tale Of Two Runs

Live. Laugh. Run...

Wild Red

Where Wild Minds Lead to Wild Adventures

52 week's of Marie's Life

52 weeks captured through photos

Lovey Photography

From May 2015 - March 2016, Sherry and Sean traveled the country and lived in a 5th wheel R.V. They took pictures, hiked mountains, and saw amazing sights. They are now settled in Fort Myers, Florida and are continuing to take pictures and seeing amazing sights. This is the blog of their journey from leaving St. Louis and starting an adventure, to living in Florida and doing photography. Enjoy the stories, and leave comments if you have one to share!

Kia Salter

A Lifestyle Blog

Wandering But Not Quite Lost

Tales of Impromptu Adventures and More

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

life of di.

the ramblings of a wife, mommy, foodie, runner and follower of Christ.

Les Petits Pas de Juls

Carnets de Voyages trilingues (Français, English, Español)

Adventure 69°North

Adventure and Photography - Passion for the Outdoors

Travel Girl Adventures

Just your average adventure girl with a flair for travel and an addiction to words.

cheffixit

NO RECIPE IS UNATTAINABLE

Edgar Bullon

Adventure and personal progress.

oh brother, here we go again

Ruminations, Reflections, and other Ramblings

Unsporty Women Can Run

From Letter Box to Marathon via a Mountain. Encouraging everyone to get active and have a go.

whatmeread

Reviews, reviews, and more reviews

